First General Assembly of the Norwegian Geophysical Society, 19-21 June 2024, Bergen

The Norwegian Geophysical Society is organising its 1st General Assembly 19-21 June 2024 in Bergen.

The General Assembly covers all disciplines within the Norwegian Geophysical Society, such as:
Cryospheric Sciences, Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences, Physical Sciences of the Oceans, Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s interior, Geomagnetism and Aeronomy, Hydrological Sciences, Geodesy, Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth’s interior.


Wednesday 19th June (UiB Aula)
09:30-10:00 Registration
10:00-10:30 Opening
10:30-16:00 Interdisciplinary Union Lectures:
Copernicus Satellite Data Monitoring the Cryosphere in Norway
Solveig Havstad Winsvold
(Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate, NVE)
Understanding dynamic Earth with geodetic observations
Maaria Nordman (Aalto University, Finland)
Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
Behind Aurora: Space Weather Impacts on Earth’s Polar Atmosphere
Jia Jia (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NTNU)

Climate in Norway 2100 – knowledge about climate change for national and local adaptation
Anita Verpe Dyrrdal (Norwegian Meteorological Institute and Norwegian Centre for Climate Services)
Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences
Expanding Norwegian Geophysical Research in Antarctica: the Troll Observing Network, a new Troll Station and R/V Kronprins Haakon
Stephen Hudson (Norwegian Polar Institute)
Physical Oceanography

Diagnosing changes in the Atlantic Meridional Overturning under climate change
Joe LaCasce (University of Oslo)
Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s Interior
The Digital Tsunami: Geophysical Extremes – from Desktop to Destination Earth
Steven J. Gibbons (Norwegian Geotechnical Institute)
16:00-18:00 Poster Session
18:00-19:00 Icebreaker Event

Thursday 20th June (UiB Læringsarenaen, Nygårdsgaten 5)
09:00-16:00 Parallel Oral Sessions
16:00-18:00 Poster Session
19:00-22:00 Conference Dinner at Restaurant on Fløyen

Friday 21st June (UiB Læringsarenaen, Nygårdsgaten 5)
09:00-12:00 NGF Annual Meeting followed by lunch


All prices in Norwegian Kroner (including VAT):

Registration fee for NGF members: 1200 kr
Registration fee without NGF membership: 1500 kr (includes NGF membership from June 2024)
Conference dinnner at Fløyen: 1000 kr
Coffee breaks, lunches, and the Icebreaker are included in the registration cost.

Deadline for abstract submission: 12 April

Online abstract submission

Registration (deadline 13 June 2024)

Online registration form

NGF Organisation Committee:

Prof. Thomas Spengler (University of Bergen)
Prof. Igor Ezau (UiT – The Arctic University of Norway)
Britta Schäfer (University of Oslo)
Dr. Hege-Beate Fredriksen (Norwegian Polar Institute)
Dr. Jenny Turton (Arctic Frontiers)

Scientific Organisation Committee

Liss Marie Andreassen (NVE
), Mette Kusk Gillespie (HVL), Einar Ólason (NERSC), Kamilla Hauknes Sjursen (HVL), Michele Petrini (NORCE)

Halfdan Pascal Kierulf (Kartverket), Ove Christian Dahl Omang (Kartverket)

Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
Andreas Kvammen (UiT), Katie Herlingshaw (UNIS), Theresa Rexer (UiT), Spencer Mark Hatch (UiB), Hilde Nesse (UiB)

Thomas Skaugen (NVE
), Jenny Hagen (Sunnfjord Geocenter), Lu Li (NORCE)

Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences
Rune Graversen (UiT), Trude Storelvmo (UiO), Camille Li (UiB)

Physical Oceanography
Marius Årthun (
UiB), Laura de Steur (NPI), Knut Ola Dølven (UiT), Gaurav Madan (UiO)

Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s Interior
Tormod Kværna (
NORSAR), Mathilde Sørensen (UiB), Grace Shepherd (UiO)

Vulcanology and Chemistry of the Earth’s Interior

Contact information

Comments are closed.